Gita Manaktala receives 2019 Association of University Presses Constituency Award

Gita Manaktala, editorial manager for the MIT Press, was called the 2019 Association of University Presses (AUPresses) Constituency Award honoree at this 12 months’s AUPresses yearly fulfilling in Detroit, Michigan. The honor was introduced by Larin McLaughlin, editor-in-chief of University of Washington Press, during the orifice banquet.

“Her letters of nomination with this prize illustrate simply how much a lot of of us cherish Gita’s efforts to our work,” McLaughlin remarked. “One explains that ‘her understanding, the girl charm, the woman laughter, her charm are typical generously bestowed on our account.’ Another describes Gita as ‘a strong ambassador when it comes to cooperative and collaborative spirit that defines the AUPresses.'” 

Manaktala’s management of variety and addition initiatives was seen as a sign accomplishment by many of her nominators. She has already been among the main mentors mixed up in Mellon University Press Diversity Fellowship since its creation in 2016, a course that creates options in institution hit acquisitions departments for gifted scholars from diverse communities. The convener of the Diversity and Inclusion Working Group at her very own press, she has also been a founding user and co-chair, with McLaughlin, associated with the organization’s Diversity and Inclusion Task Force, developed in 2017. The AUPresses task power becomes a complete committee for equity, justice, and inclusion, with Manaktala continuing being a co-chair, this autumn.

Manaktala’s almost 30-year profession at MIT Press features encompassed marketing and advertising in addition to editorial aspects of expertise. As advertising director at the press from 2004-08, she led worldwide sales, advertising, publicity, and electronic product development attempts. As the editorial manager since 2009, she’s got directed a large and complex purchases program and at this time oversees the work of 14 acquiring editors.

The woman extra volunteer service towards organization is equally diverse:

  • She chaired the 2011 Annual Meeting Program Committee, making a summit which well-remembered for its vibrant and community-building choices.
  • As a key part of the 2015-16 purchases Editorial Committee, she aided create the Best Practices for Peer Review handbook, bringing together ideas from dozens of purchases editors to produce this leading document. 
  • She’s got offered regarding the Faculty Outreach, Digital Publishing, and Nominating committees, so when an associate of the organization’s board of administrators since 2017.

The association’s honor recognizes Manaktala as being a multi-talented and collaborative frontrunner and thanks this lady on her behalf many contributions towards work of university presses and to a rich and inclusive writing tradition.

Created in 1991, the AUPresses Constituency Award recognizes staff at member presses that have shown energetic leadership and solution to your organization in addition to institution hit neighborhood. Coincidentally, just last year’s prize winner, Colleen Lanick, has also been an MIT Press staffer; this woman is at this time promotion director of Harvard University Press. The entire honor roll can be acquired here.